WWW.THESIS.XLIBX.INFO
FREE ELECTRONIC LIBRARY - Thesis, documentation, books
 
<< HOME
CONTACTS



Pages:     | 1 |   ...   | 3 | 4 || 6 | 7 |   ...   | 9 |

«February 2014 Review of the Balance of Competences between the United Kingdom and the European Union Culture, Tourism and Sport © Crown copyright ...»

-- [ Page 5 ] --

Innovative, risk-taking work is often created by emerging artists and smaller-scale organisations. Without opportunities to join together at a larger, pan-national scale this work would not reach wider audiences and bigger markets, limiting both its potential and its impact. Arts Council England.

There are vital networks of like institutions which provide mutually beneficial professional development, the lending and borrowing of objects between institutions, joint scholarship, exchanges, education programmes and touring exhibitions.

National Museum Directors’ Council.

2.20 For others it was about achieving a critical mass which allows the UK, with European

partners, to compete on the global stage and project ‘soft power’ abroad:

The different cultures of Europe will have increasing difficulties to be heard globally in an environment that will be dominated by players of the size of the US, China and Brazil. An increasing co-ordination of European cultural initiatives and support of collaboration within the EU is highly desirable. The Wallace Collection.

Domestic governments alone cannot provide funding at the scale of investment needed to enable cultural organisations to compete with their rivals in faster growing international economies such as China and India. Arts Council England.

2.21 The British Council, a key player in the UK’s projection of ‘soft power’, recognised the contribution EU funding programmes can make where they support UK institutions to export our culture internationally, but was clear that, ‘national and devolved governments and national cultural institutions remain the best placed level of government to support and champion the internationalisation of their national arts and cultural sectors’.

2.22 The National Museum Directors’ Council also argued that EU cultural programmes provided an ‘entry point for museums that may then go on to consider later collaborative projects once they have established a network of suitable partners. This could not be replicated by a single Member State – the pool of possible partners is larger and the funding necessarily less prescribed, creating the opportunity for innovative projects’.

2.23 Other contributors were keen to stress the value in EU funding programmes which support UK citizens to better understand and experience their own cultural heritage, as

well as reap economic benefits:

Chapter 2: Impact on the National Interest 29

The greatest visible benefits of EU action in culture have been the European Heritage Open Days initiative and the European Cities of Culture, which have provided a focus for investment and lead to wide scale regeneration. Open Days have increased local interest in heritage by allowing people to explore some of the fabulous built heritage that makes up our towns and cities. The Prince’s Regeneration Trust.

Another major programme is The European Heritage Days […] They increase public participation on a massive level [...] Large countries support smaller ones with their expertise on evaluating success / volunteering etc so it is also an example of diplomacy/development. Sarah Wolferstan, University College London.

The European Capitals of Culture programme is very successful and the UK has derived significant benefit from its participation in this initiative. Both UK cities – Glasgow and Liverpool – […] have reaped significant cultural and economic benefits.

British Council.

Glasgow was selected as a European City of Culture in 1990, and the Scottish Government would take the view that this initiative has left a long-standing and meaningful legacy for the city. Glasgow used the opportunity that the ECC initiative afforded to successfully demonstrate how culture can be used to address a range of economic and social objectives as well as promoting community development and participation. The UK is scheduled to host a European Capital of Culture in

2023. The Scottish Government recognises the great benefits that the Capitals of Culture programme can bring to a city and, indeed, the recent UK City of Culture programme and our support for the city of Dundee is predicated on an understanding of those benefits. Scottish Government.

2.24 Indeed, the UK Government has embraced the Capitals for Culture programme, supplementing EU funding with national support to great effect. Based on the success of Glasgow and Liverpool the UK has introduced its own national Capital of Culture programme.

Liverpool – European Capital Of Culture 2008 Liverpool’s year as European Capital of Culture generated an £800m boost to the regional economy and welcomed 3.5m first time visitors to the city.

Impacts 08 – The Liverpool Model is an initiative commissioned by Liverpool City Council to evaluate the social, cultural, economic and environmental effects of Liverpool’s year as European Capital of Culture. The final report, published in March 2010, shows the very significant benefit to Liverpool, Merseyside and the wider North West region.11 Liverpool 2008 is now perceived as an important reference point for future European Capitals of Culture and is presented as an exemplar by the European Commission in areas such as its volunteering, community involvement and research programmes.





2.25 Contributors from larger cultural organisations felt there was value in the EU’s emphasis on

Member States’ shared cultural heritage:

The EU’s focus on shared cultural heritage is very important – an audience cannot appreciate the history of the UK without understanding the history of Europe.

National Museum Directors’ Council.

University of Liverpool, Creating an Impact: Liverpool’s Experience as European Capital of Culture (2010).

30 Review of the Balance of Competences between the United Kingdom and the European Union: Culture, Tourism and Sport The EU is the obvious framework for cultural activities and commemorations on many issues. Over the next years, the First World War commemorations, the anniversary of 1714 and of the Battle of Waterloo are obvious examples of topics that can best be celebrated, commemorated and analysed when seen in the European context. The Wallace Collection.

2.26 Others from the culture sector were keen to stress the importance of the EU’s recognition of the value of cultural diversity, and the importance of EU activities under its culture

competence for smaller cultural organisations, and for those outside the South-East:

We, as a small performing arts organisation and charity have benefitted both from an EU culture grant, and from the Youth in Action programme. Without their support, the work that was achieved in the Balkan Region and in West Dorset would not have been possible. Their programmes are far reaching and adaptable to many different areas of culture and the arts. Anonymous contributor.

The way in which the EU recognises diversity as well as shared elements of the European Union’s cultural and linguistic diversity is valuable… The role of culture in encouraging cultural diversity and intercultural dialogue – through improving citizens’ knowledge and appreciation of other European cultures – is at the very heart of European cultural policy […] From a Welsh perspective, being a bi-lingual nation, this focus is very welcome. Welsh Government.

The EU’s focus on a shared cultural heritage is beneficial as it recognises the cultural diversity of the EU. This opens culture up and helps make it more accessible and inclusive for everyone. Museums Galleries Scotland.

An understanding of its history is of great importance to retaining a Cornish identity, and in turn the maintenance of distinctive customs and culture. Our experience is that currently these wishes are better understood and appreciated in the wider Europe than is evident nearer home. Centre for European Research within Cornwall.

2.27 As set out in earlier chapters, the supporting nature of the EU competence for culture means that no action taken by the EU under this competence can prevent or require any action by the UK Government. The EU can however offer complementary programmes which UK cultural organisations can choose to participate in or not. In the area of culture these programmes largely comprise of funding. It is not perhaps surprising therefore that overall contributors from the culture sector felt the balance of competence between the UK and EU in relation to culture is correct. No contributors argued either for the removal of

EU competence in this area, nor that it should be extended:

NMDC would support the present balance of competences in respect to culture […] This has a net positive cultural and economic benefit for the UK because it allows the museums to produce better public programmes and continue to attract increasing visitor numbers. National Museum Directors’ Council.

Overall we believe the opportunities for cultural organisations and bodies are strengthened by the availability of funding and partnership programmes and expertise from Europe. Scottish Government.

The EU responsibility for culture on the supporting level is highly appropriate for [helping UK compete globally]. The Wallace Collection.

While we agree that the European Union should have a supporting competence in this area, it would be unnecessary and counterproductive for this to be extended.

British Council.

Chapter 2: Impact on the National Interest 31

2.28 That is not to say that contributors were universally satisfied with the EU’s operation of its competence for culture. Four of the contributors from the culture sector raised concerns about the complex, slow and overly bureaucratic nature of the EU’s funding programmes.

In general, European schemes are too bureaucratic and funding cycles are very slow, the decision making process needs to be significantly sped up to be effective for busy companies, often with tight cash flows. British Film Institute.

The disadvantages are some of the restrictions on what funding can be used for and the bureaucracy. Hampshire County Council.

For a small organisation it is incredibly difficult and time consuming to provide the financial evidence required, a lot of it unnecessary we believe […] Many people we know have lost part of their original grants due to misunderstanding of the financial reporting and its excessive demands. Anonymous contributor.

The disadvantages of directing funding through the EU is that the requirement for monitoring and evaluation systems for EU projects can be overly complex and this can deter potential applicants, and favour larger organisations. Anonymous contributor.

Tourism

2.29 The EU’s specific competence in relation to tourism dates back only to TFEU and it has yet to adopt any regulatory or legislative measures. However, tourism is a complex industry which is impacted by EU activity across a range of competences outside the scope of this report. In particular, contributors stressed the impact of EU competences in relation to transport, immigration, taxation, the Single Market and Structural Funds.

For all the recent developments and initiatives such as the Virtual Tourism Observatory (VTO), the EU’s specific tourism competence has limited impact […] Far more important have been other legislation and initiatives in other policy areas that touch on tourism, including free movement, immigration, market and transport.

VisitBritain and VisitEngland.

2.30 For example, the UK issues UK-only visas for non-EU visitors, while most other Member States issue visas under the Schengen arrangements which allow visitors to travel to other Schengen countries. This arises out of the UK’s special position under the EU Treaties in respect of the Schengen area. The European Tour Operators Association noted that this may lead the UK to be dropped from multi-country itineraries, although VisitBritain and VisitEngland also noted that the UK’s physical location as an island may impact on its ability to benefit from EU action.

2.31 Equally, some contributors noted the benefits, both to incoming and outgoing holidaymakers, of consumer protection measures such as the Package Travel Directive, or the Denied Boarding Regulation.

2.32 Issues relating to the free movement of persons, the single market for services, immigration, and transport will be dealt with in other Balance of Competences reports.12 Evidence submitted to this report relevant to those reports has been forwarded to the authoring department.

HMG, Review of The Balance of Competences Between the UK and the EU, Single Market: Services, published later in the review. HMG, Review of The Balance of Competences Between the UK and the EU, Asylum and Immigration, published in parallel with this report. HMG, Review of The Balance of Competences Between the UK and the EU, Transport, published in parallel to this report.

32 Review of the Balance of Competences between the United Kingdom and the European Union: Culture, Tourism and Sport

2.33 A number of contributors also reflected on the potential for the new competence for tourism to drive greater coherence in the EU’s application of its wider competence to the tourism sector. These issues will be considered in Chapter 3.

2.34 As well as commenting on these broader competences, ten contributors also commented specifically on the new supporting tourism competence. Of these, eight agreed with the joint submission from Visit Britain and Visit England that the new tourism competence was

yet to have an impact:

We have not yet seen any significant impact from article 195 of the TFEU. British Hospitality Association (BHA).

While the functions of the state in providing for or supporting tourism are also subject to EU State Aid considerations, there is very little direct legislative control by the EU on tourism specifically. Scottish Government.

We aren’t aware of any evidence that the actions under the EU 2010 Communication on Tourism… have made a significant difference to the UK’s tourism economy. The actions struggle to address the priorities in a substantial way. Hampshire County Council.



Pages:     | 1 |   ...   | 3 | 4 || 6 | 7 |   ...   | 9 |


Similar works:

«Early Children's Books: The Fox Collection at San Francisco Public Library by Ruth McGurk An essay about the Early Child rens' Books of the Fox Collection Fox Collection: Introduction San Francisco hold s a unique archive for the stud y of early child ren's books, w hich w ill interest scholars of printing, parents, artists, w riters, or anyone curious about the book arts. It w asn't until the eighteenth century that child ren began to be treated d ifferent ly from ad ults and a special class...»

«A Working Guide to the A collection of writings depicting the wide range of ways Landscape of Arts for Change the arts make community, civic, and social change. Lake wetlands/riparian zone the author hiked in Utah. Photo: Helen De Michiel OPEN SPACE DOCUMENTARY By Helen De Michiel Open space documentary is an emerging framework for community-based media. Intentional participatory media experiments are proliferating across rapidly developing and evolving distribution platforms. New technology...»

«Specially Designated Nationals (SDN) Advanced Sanctions Data Model XML Explanatory Notes LAST UPDATED: 1/12/2015 A. Introduction OFAC has released a new XML product in a format designed by the United Nations Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee. The format provides detailed information that is sufficiently well categorized as to allow each user to parse the information most relevant to them. This document provides a high-level overview of the new XML and helps to explain how OFAC has populated this new...»

«Central Steering and Local Autonomy in Public Employment Services Analytical paper October 2014 PES to PES Dialogue The European Commission Mutual Learning Programme for Public Employment Services Written by J. Timo Weishaupt October 2014 EUROPEAN COMMISSION Directorate-General for Employment, Social Affairs ad Inclusion Directorate C — Europe 2020: Employment policies Unit C.3 Contact: Eamonn Davern E-mail: eamonn.davern@ec.europa.eu European Commission B-1049 Brussels EUROPEAN COMMISSION...»

«250 Luscious Refrigerator Desserts The must have he to each value in loan control, that you can get to leave after. City on outstanding home dollar names's humiliated once a read apparent and communication real property of close buyers. A customer time requirements and times from a Articles are come of same turnarounds what receive your personnel to restrictive people and terms at able QuickBooks of each Resources. Quite, you will work 250 Luscious Refrigerator Desserts credit others, and a...»

«EQUITY LINKED NOTE I RBC STRUCTURED NOTES GROUP Direct Investment Notes Linked to the Cushing® 30 MLP Index, Due July 29, 2011 INVESTMENT THESIS 50% Receive a return at maturity based on the level of the Cushing® 30 MLP Index, with no principal protection against downside risk. Receive periodic distributions based on the amount of distributions paid by the components of the Reference Asset. PRELIMINARY KEY TERMS RETURN ON THE Reference Asset: MLPX NOTES 0% Participation Rate: 97.50% Payment...»

«Slow Sex Zeit finden für die Liebe Diana Richardson Slow Sex Zeit finden für die Liebe Aus dem Amerikanischen übersetzt von Karin Weingart Integral Die amerikanische Ausgabe erschien 2011 unter dem Titel »Slow sex: the path to fulfilling and sustainable sexuality« im Verlag Destiny Books, Rochester, Vermont, USA. Verlagsgruppe Random House FSC-DEU-0100 Das für dieses Buch verwendete FSC ®-zertifizierte Papier Munken Cream liefert Arctic Paper Munkedals AB, Schweden. Integral Verlag...»

«sony ericsson arc sony ericsson arc Handy Sony Ericsson Arc S Such Handy Sony Ericsson Arc S. Such Handy Sony Ericsson Arc S. Ergebnisse von 6 Suchmaschinen! Ericsson T707 Vergleiche finde günstige Preise. Vergleiche finde günstige Preise. Mit unserem Preisvergleich sparen! MyPhoneExplorer Kostenlos Android Handys einfach verwalten. Android Handys einfach verwalten. Jetzt downloaden. 100% gratis! Sony Z5 Compact sichern! Jetzt nur 26,99/mtl. Jetzt nur 26,99/mtl. mit der Allnet-Flat XL 10%...»

«Case: 10-55946 04/15/2013 ID: 8589884 DktEntry: 67 Page: 1 of 18 NO. 10-55946 UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT COLUMBIA PICTURES INDUSTRIES, INC. et al., PLAINTIFFS-APPELLEES, V. GARY FUNG and ISOHUNT WEB TECHNOLOGIES, INC., DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS. On Appeal From The United States District Court For The Central District of California Case No. 06-cv-5578 Honorable Stephen V. Wilson District Judge BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE ELECTRONIC FRONTIER FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR...»

«Sub-Indicator #3: Work Orders I. Definition: This sub-indicator examines the adequacy of a PHA’s performance with regard to completing maintenance work items as measured by its work order system. The subMaximum indicator evaluates how a PHA controls its active work orders as well as the timeliness of Point(s): completion of work orders. Any work order active within the assessed year is included in the count regardless of when it was received or completed. It also examines any progress a PHA...»

«Curriculum Vitae Gerard H. Roe Associate Professor, Dept. of Earth and Space Sciences, University of Washington, Seattle, WA.ADDRESS 3922 Greenwood Ave N Seattle, WA 98103 phone: (206) 697-3298 e-mail: gerard@ess.washington.edu EDUCATION Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science, June 1999. Dissertation under Prof. Richard Lindzen: “The mutual interaction between the great continental ice sheets and atmospheric stationary waves”. Oriel College,...»

«Running head: INTERVIEW REFLECTIONS 1 First Interview: Paul Cross Student WDF University of Texas-El Paso Running head: INTERVIEW REFLECTIONS 2 First Interview: Paul Cross When I first received this assignment, I knew exactly who I was going to contact first to get the information needed to make this process smoother. At first, I debated if I wanted to conduct the interview in person or by email. I thought about it, and concluded that I would be doing this by email because I knew that I would...»





 
<<  HOME   |    CONTACTS
2016 www.thesis.xlibx.info - Thesis, documentation, books

Materials of this site are available for review, all rights belong to their respective owners.
If you do not agree with the fact that your material is placed on this site, please, email us, we will within 1-2 business days delete him.